#8 of All the Things

Do you feel a little bored, or like you’re not “living the dream” like you should be? Don’t get crazy and quit your job, that’s just reckless and more often than not, does more harm than good. Instead, try reading Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job and Your Dream Job by Jon Acuff.

This book is about finding your dream job while working at your day job.  How to figure out what your dream job is and the importance of staying with your day job while pursuing your dream job because this is your life we are talking about here, you don’t want to ruin it by making changes too soon.

“I know it sounds crazy but people with jobs tend to have more creative freedom than people without.”  Jon Acuff

This book made me feel like I can have both.  The responsibility and dependability of my day job while pursuing my dream job which happens to be much like Jon’s dream job.  I want to help people by teaching them and motivating them with my writing and eventually while speaking (my major in college was speech communications after all).  Jon is also a Dave Ramsey personality and I can’t think of a better company to work for! (If you want to get a handle on your money, Dave Ramsey is your guy.  I’ll be posting about him soon.)

10836740

Here are some of the things I learned from Quitter:

  • How to fall back “in like” with my day job and to look at it with a new perspective.
  • That all my day jobs up to now were not time wasted.  I’ve learned so many skills and had so many experiences that it helps me to relate to others.
  • To look back on my “hinge moments” to figure out what my dream is.
  • Great tips on finding the time and motivation to work on my dream job.
  • To be okay with the “Nebraska years.”  To even look forward to them!

I listened to this book on Audible narrated by the author, Jon Acuff.  He did a good job and was pleasant to listen to.  Plus, he went “off script” a few times, adding more relevant information to the subject matter.

Here are more books Jon has written that I look forward to reading:

17249189

This is his latest book:

22571775

He also has a blog called Stuff Christians Like and a book based on that:
6894751

If you read any of Jon’s books, please come back and let me know.  You can click on each one if you want to add it to your list on goodreads. See you back on Monday with a really fun President’s Day post.  For real, who knew President’s Day could be so fun?  Until then, don’t quit your day job!

Thanks for visiting.  Please subscribe on the bottom of the page if you’d like an email when I post. Comments are like gold to a blogger and shares are like diamonds.   A growing blog makes a blogger happy.    New here?  Check out my About page to see what this blog is all about and to learn more about me.

All the best,

Marcie

Question of the day.  What did you learn from a really crappy job?

 

 

4 thoughts on “#8 of All the Things

  1. I needed to read this today! Thank you! I will be checking out some of his books. 🙂

    For your question of the day: Even though the job was crummy most days, I learned about self-confidence. It allowed me to trust myself more and to speak with a certainty that I previously did not have.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now that my full-time day job is behind me I’m enjoying my dream part-time job and the opportunity to spend a lot more time pursuing my passion of writing and creativity. Wish I had these books 10-15 years ago!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

