#10 of All the Things-10% Happier w/ Colin O’Brady

snow-1216543_1920

Colin O’Brady is a pro-endurance athlete. He broke the world record for the Explorer’s Grand Slam which means he summited the highest peaks on each of the seven continents and also trekked both the North and South Poles.  This challenge is usually done within a person’s lifetime but he completed it within 139 days! He climbed Mount Kilimanjaro in 11.5 hours.  Google told me it takes 5-9 days to do that and that only half of the people who have attempted have reached the summit.  But, let me say, if you’ve attempted but didn’t make it, you are still a winner in my book!  Good for you!

I learned about Colin on one of my favorite podcasts, 10% Happier with Dan Harris, episode #45. In each episode of the podcast, Dan talks to people who mediate to see if there is anything “beyond 10%” and asks the question “Can you be an ambitious person and still strive for enlightenment?”  His guests range from meditation teachers to actors. From musicians to  news anchors and all sorts of interesting people in between.  It also has some guided meditations sprinkled throughout.  I haven’t listened to all of the podcasts, I didn’t discover the podcast until well after it was started but I’ve skipping around and I’ve enjoyed many of them so far.

“My hope is that I will obviously be able to find my best self… my best 40 year-old, or 50 year-old or 60 year-old self might not be up to par with my 31 year-old self… but that’s okay with me as long as I’m finding the depth of who I am.” Colin O’Brady

One of the things I found fascinating about Colin was that when he was younger, he had been jump-roping on a beach with a flaming jump rope in Thailand and had been badly burned on his legs and feet and was told he would never walk normally again.   He’s obviously the kind of guy that pushes through and makes things happen and didn’t let that stand in his way.

Colin has also started a movement where he is inspiring kids to figure out what their “Mount Everest” is.  Plus, he’s raising awareness and trying to help kids get active.  I think it’s pretty cool, you should check out his blog.

The 10% Happier Podcast is based off of Dan Harris’ book 10% Happier; How I Tamed the Voice In My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, And Found Self-Help That Actually Works -A True Story

18505796-1
I listened to the book on audible and I really enjoyed it.  Click on the books on this blog to add them to your Goodreads list.  For more information see the What is Goodreads? post. If you are curious about meditation and/or enjoy a good memoir, then it’s a good pick.

 

Dan Harris, the host of the show, is also a correspondent for ABC News. He’s an anchor on both Nightline and the weekend edition of Good Morning America.  He’s a great interviewer with a wonderful sense of humor and is passionate about the subject of meditation, but I  love how he lets his skepticisms shine through.

couch-447484_1920

Thanks for visiting.  Please subscribe on the bottom of the page if you’d like an email when I post. Comments are like gold to a blogger, so please share any thoughts you have.  Shares are like diamonds to a blogger so if you enjoyed this post, or you know somebody who might,  please share.  A growing blog makes a blogger happy.    New here?  Check out my About page to see what this blog is all about.

The next post will be on Friday and it’s about one of my favorite books by my favorite author.  Until then, I hope you have many opportunities to BE in the moment (it’s really the best place to be).

All the best,

Marcie

Question of the day.  What are your thoughts on meditation?  Have you tried it? If you have, what kind do you practice?  If you haven’t, what’s holding you back?

 

One thought on “#10 of All the Things-10% Happier w/ Colin O’Brady

Leave a Reply

