#12 of All the Things-Why Some of Us Don’t Have One True Calling

Do you have a lot of interests?  Was picking a major or a career a really difficult choice for you because there were a lot of things that you were interested in?  If so, you should check out a TED Talk by Emilie Wapnick called Why Some of Us Don’t Have One True Calling.  

While watching this talk, I had an overwhelming sense of “Yes! This explains so much!” It helped me to embrace my true self and feel so much better about my multitude of interests. It shed light on the indecision I’ve always had as to what it is I really want to do with my life.

Emilie explains what a multipotentialite is and teaches you what the three super powers of a multipotentialite are.  It’s a humorous look at why some of us struggle so much with conquering something we like and are good at, but then getting bored and wanting to change jobs or careers or majors.  Take a peek:

I learned a lot from this talk such as:

  • It’s an asset to have lots of interests.
  • I have three superpowers to make my world a better place.
  • I’m really good at being a beginner and trying new things.
  • I have lots of opportunities to use the things I learn in new areas and creative endeavors.
  • I’m not alone in my boredom of the same old things.

I’m so glad that I found this video and I hope you enjoyed it, too.  Have fun dreaming about all the things you can be when you grow up.  The next post will be on Wednesday and it will be about a song that inspires me to keep going when things fall apart.

Thanks for visiting.  Please subscribe on the bottom of the page if you’d like an email when I post. Comments are like gold to a blogger, so please share any thoughts you have.  Shares are like diamonds to a blogger so if you enjoyed this post, or you know somebody who might, please share.  A growing blog makes a blogger happy.    New here?  Check out my About page to see what this blog is all about.

All the best,

Marcie

Question of the day: Do you think you might be a multipotentialite?  Tell me about some of your interests, what would you like to see a blog post about?

6 thoughts on “#12 of All the Things-Why Some of Us Don’t Have One True Calling

  1. Yeeeeeeeesssssssss. This is SO me! It was my dad, too. When I was choosing a major in college, I panicked at the thought of deciding what I’d be doing the rest of my life, and my parents were awesome and pointed out that neither one of them was using their college major anymore. They had each had several different careers and were doing fine. Took some of the pressure off that society puts on us.

    Like

    1. That’s great that your parents were so supportive. I imagine plenty of people aren’t so lucky. Thanks for stopping by! I’m going to check out your new book. Saw you on the FB page for bloggers.

      Like

      1. There’s a facebook page for bloggers? Sorry I hope you didn’t mind that I quoted your blog. I read somewhere that as long as you link them it is considered ok, but it might have been nicer of me to ask first. I love the post though. and look forward to following and sharing (with your permission) in the future.

        Like

      2. I don’t mind. I just didn’t know how you do that. It was something I hadn’t seen before. I found a fb page for bloggers but I’m on my phone now. I can post the link later but it’s called big up your blog.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

