#15 of All the Things-Dave Ramsey

dollar-941246_1280

“Stop spending money like you’re in congress”  is my favorite quote by Dave Ramsey.  With the help of his baby step program and the daily motivation that I get from his radio show/podcast my family is learning about and making better choices with money!  Dave is a straight shooter and tells it like it is but he understands the real struggles because he’s been there, too.  One of my favorite things about Dave is that he is so generous and believes that helping others is an important part of handling money.  Hearing debt-free screams on his show is the most powerful, emotionally charged way to keep motivated. They make me cry every single time.

My favorite way to get my Dave Ramsey fix is to listen to his radio show.  It is on a ton of radio stations all across the nation and live on YouTube and Facebook daily. I like to access it in podcast form on Google Play.  Each hour of the show is posted daily so you have 3 different segments that are about 40 minutes each.

His website is full of great information.  I use his free app, EveryDollar for budgeting every month.  I use it online but you can also access it from an app on your phone.

“A budget is telling your money where to go instead of wondering where it went.”
Dave Ramsey

We are almost done with #2 of the seven baby steps and our new mind set is “No more debt!”  I’m also looking forward to attending Financial Peace University and am thinking about leading a class of my own as soon as I can find a place to do so.

I’ve learned so much from Dave Ramsey including the following:

  • Debt is not the answer.
  • How to build an emergency fund.
  • I do have control of my money, even if I’m not making much, I still have options.
  • To not be a victim of society or the government, to take ownership of my money troubles and to make better decisions.
  • If I’m not making enough money, I have options for earning more.
  • You can buy a house without building credit.
  • How to change my family tree.
  • If people who are financially worse off than me can do it, so can I!

I’ve read this book and I highly recommend it:

tmmo_hardcover

I’ve also read this book that he wrote with his daughter (watch for a blog post about this soon):

smartmoneysmartkids-800x800

He has great links to more great people, live shows and events, plus classes where you can learn more.

I hope you take the opportunity to turn your money life around.  As Dave says “If you will live like no one else, later you can live like no one else.” See you on Wednesday, when my kids and I will share a book we read together that we really enjoyed. Until then, stop spending money like you’re in congress!

Thanks for visiting.  Please subscribe on the bottom of the page if you’d like an email when I post. Comments are like gold to a blogger and shares are like diamonds.   A growing blog makes a blogger happy.    New here?  Check out my About page to see what this blog is all about and to learn more about me. Click to follow me on FACEBOOK.  Click to follow me on TWITTER.

All the best,

Marcie

Question of the day.  What good choices have you made about money lately?

5 thoughts on “#15 of All the Things-Dave Ramsey

Leave a Reply

