#20 of All the Things- K9’s From Carrie

 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  I’ve been thinking about luck and being lucky and wanted to share my favorite quote and a crafty little gift idea for you regarding luck. I also want to tell you about a great charity that I’d like you to know about because sometimes we aren’t so lucky, and we need a little bit of help from a four legged friend. 

 “I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.”  Thomas Jefferson

This past year, we had a fundraising effort at my work.  One of the opportunities we had was to team up and build a basket to auction off to earn money for some great charities.

These are the baskets I made:

lucky-lotto
The baskets were a success and my team won the contest for the best basket!

Each basket was worth $28.  I found the banks and the real money confetti (that was my favorite part) at a store called Ax Man in Fridley, MN but I’m sure you can find stuff like this online if you plan ahead a little bit.

beautiful-1867463_1920.jpg

The charity I was most impressed with is called K9’s From Carrie:

It’s a Minnesota-based nonprofit. K9s from Carrie is dedicated to “furry therapy” by pairing individuals with dogs to manage mental illness and reduce suicide. They offer:  Mental health and suicide awareness. Sponsoring obedience training for a dog that is already a member of the family or sponsoring obedience together with a physically and emotionally sound four legged pal to individuals who need one.

Please give if you can.  This is a wonderful charity and Carrie’s mom is amazing for starting it.   Imagine the suffering that takes place every day and how a furry friend could help.

I hope you all have a lucky St. Patrick’s Day!  If you are struggling with keeping up with your housework and need some good ideas and motivation, come back on Monday. I will tell you about a website that has taught me so much and has stuck with me for years!

Thanks for visiting.  Please subscribe on the bottom of the page if you’d like an email when I post. Comments are like gold to a blogger and shares are like diamonds.   A growing blog makes a blogger happy.    New here?  Check out my About page to see what this blog is all about and to learn more about me. Click to follow me on FACEBOOK.  Click to follow me on TWITTER.

All the best,

Marcie

Question of the day.  What are your favorite charities and why?

Leave a Reply

