#25 of All the Things- You Are Here

IMG_20170313_081029080

*This blog post was a big fat fail.  A couple of weeks ago I was trying to schedule this post for today and accidently hit publish.  (Any of you bloggers done that before?) I changed it right away to the correct day but of course it was sent out via email to all my email followers.  So, yes, this a post you’ve already seen  before.  But, I decided to add something new on the bottom so that it wouldn’t be the exact same post that you’ve already seen.  Jenny has a great blog so I decided to find some of my FAVORITE blog posts of hers and post the links so you can laugh along with me.  Thanks for be patient even while I make mistakes!

Here’s the original post:

It’s no secret that I adore Jenny Lawson (The Bloggess) and her newest book, You Are Here does not disappoint!  It’s part inappropriate self-help and part beautiful coloring book.  It takes you on a tour of Jenny’s sometimes broken but mostly amazing mind.
30360170

It arrived with perfect timing, just as I was just starting the descent into the abyss of the darkness of my own broken mind.  I had just cancelled our spring break hotel reservations because 3/4 of my household was sick.  I had been suffering for a week and was sad and feeling a little bit bitter that all of my vacation days were being wasted on a never ending runny nose, body aches, a general feeling of shittyness.  My youngest daughter and I both missed the field trip to the science museum and I felt terrible for backing out and even more terrible that she didn’t get to go with her friends on a field trip.  Luckily, I had pre-ordered 3 copies of the book so each of my girls would get one, too.  (Aemelia was very quick to find the F-bombs so if you have an issue with that sort of thing, don’t get this book for kids or only share the pages that are kid-friendly) As we watched a marathon of Gilmore Girls (with a few episodes of Friends mixed in for variety), we organized our new markers and made a color chart with some color pallet ideas (okay, that was mostly me) and began to color.

IMG_20170313_093458111
I post this so you have a tiny peak inside of my mind.  In case you can relate.  Or,  maybe to just help you feel better about yourself in comparison.

 

Here are a few of my favorites so far:

IMG_20170313_080610591
Alina did this one. I love the colors she chose! It says: Always remember, frightened rabbits fight hardest. “Small” is not the same as “weak.”

 

IMG_-phfk7y.jpg
I posted this one on Twitter to share with Jenny and she heart this one! I’m pretty sure Aemelia felt a little bit famous and I was a proud mama/fan girl. It says: Haters gonna hate. Players gone play. I’m just gonna hide in the closet because I have social anxiety.
IMG_20170313_221648946
I did this one.  Sorry I didn’t flatten it out for a better picture. It says: She always felt far too afraid for adventures, but that was okay because misadventure was her true calling.

 

I hope you get the book, it’s less than $10 but worth so much more!  I’m enjoying it even more now that we are feeling better.  For information on Jenny’s other books and her awesome blog see blog post #11 of All the Things.

See you on Friday,   where I will share a great TV show about dog training.

Thanks for visiting.  Please subscribe on the bottom of the page if you’d like an email when I post. Comments are like gold to a blogger and shares are like diamonds.   A growing blog makes a blogger happy.    New here?  Check out my About page to see what this blog is all about and to learn more about me.

All the best,

Marcie

Question of the day.  What is your favorite thing to do when you are feeling a sick?

 

*Bonus-check out my 6 favorite Bloggess Post links from the last 6 months:

http://thebloggess.com/2017/01/04/im-gonna-be-a-vampire-maybe/  (This is where the vampire saga begins.  It continues on for a post or two later and it’s all a riot!)

http://thebloggess.com/2016/12/07/the-man-really-is-a-saint-but-hes-killing-me-slowly/ (Victor IS pretty awesome)

http://thebloggess.com/2016/11/29/possibly-the-weirdest-thing-i-ever-got-in-the-mail-and-thats-really-saying-something/ (I want to share friends with Jenny)

http://thebloggess.com/2017/01/10/playing-with-toys/  (The last one is my favorite! Ha!)

http://thebloggess.com/2016/12/29/its-my-birthday-so-you-cant-yell-at-me/ (I say visit the otters)

http://thebloggess.com/2016/10/31/i-was-going-to-name-this-post-happy-howloween-but-that-seems-cheesy-but-i-cant-think-of-anything-else-so-lets-stick-with-that-okay/  (It’s kind of nice to know that the awesome namer of names sometimes get stumped.  This one also contains cute pets dressed up in Halloween costumes)

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “#25 of All the Things- You Are Here

  1. I love your coloring interpretations of Jenny’s drawings. I often hit publish prematurely, too, ensuring that what I consider the best joke that I added later on as an addendum or an edit will be seen by no one. I also can’t figure out why when I look at an old comment I made on someone else’s page, I always seem to inadvertently “like” my own comment, which really looks pathetic, but it’s unintentional. Then again, you’re hearing from a guy who kinda wishes they’d bring back rotary phones, so perhaps my technological stupidity is to be expected.

    Like

    1. I think maybe it’s a right of passage now. I’ve liked my own posts on FB. Especially if it’s a cute pic of my kids! I remember when dialing a phone took a good 30 seconds. Now it’s one button. Time’s a changing.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That is awesome! I met her in Minneapolis and I brought a giant bag of silver ribbons for everyone in her audience. I took big silver ribbon from sam’s club and used a safety pin to make them in a ribbon shape. They didn’t hold their shape well but it was pretty cool. I passed them out to the audience but I felt bad because I didn’t have enough. I had no idea how many people to expect. I gave her a small pile and she said if she found people that really needed one and they didn’t have one, she’d share those. It was very sweet. My phone was a piece of crap and the picture is blurry but I think about her comment about everything being better a little bit blurry, that’s why people like wine slushies. Or something like that. I’ll have to look up the exact quote again. Maybe I’ll post the pic on a future blog post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

