#32 of All the Things- Broadcasting Happiness

woman-591576_640

We are all broadcasters.  We are projecting out into the world our thoughts and feelings, even when we aren’t saying a word.  Did you know that the world is actually safer than it’s ever been?  Our constant access to media skews our thinking and makes the world appear to be much darker and dangerous than it actually is.  I used to think that the only answer was to hide from the news and to stay uninformed because it was all so depressing.  I recently listened to a book on Audible called Broadcasting Happiness: The Science of Igniting and Sustaining Positive Change by Michelle Gielan and I’m so happy that I did.   

23453157

The book made me feel so hopeful both for the state of the world, and what we can do to make things better and for my own happiness.  This post was difficult for me to write because I learned so much and was so excited by the material, I had a hard time trimming it down to a few key points.

Here are a few of the things I learned:

  • It takes only minutes to dramatically shift someone’s mood from neutral to negative with news reports. People who watch the news think their city is significantly more dangerous than it actually is.  The good news is that we can learn to broadcast to the world (and take in information) in a better way.
  • Ignorance or avoiding the negatives is not the answer. We are simply telling many of the stories in the wrong way.  We can turn sad news stories into stories of hope if we can find the good that comes from them and share that.
  • Not all things are out of our control, even when they feel that way.
  • How to move from paralysis to activation.
  • How to use power leads because beginnings are important.
  • There are different types of negative people and different ways to deal effectively with each type.
  • About flash memories and how to change them.
  • The four kinds of questions to ask to promote positive changes.
  • How to fact-check and rethink the present moment.
  • How to develop some simple positive habits that are like preventative medicine to buffer against the negative.
  • How to deliver bad news better.
  • How to create a positive ripple effect.

The book was very well laid out and organized. It had clear objectives and followed through on it’s lessons with many interesting and relevant studies and real world examples.  Michelle Gielan did an excellent job of narrating and I’ve listened to it twice so far and I know that I will listen again to reinforce all of the great things I learned.

I hope you check out the book.  To learn more about Michelle Gielan, check out her site here.  You can find her on Facebook and Twitter.  Click on the books in my blog to add them to your Goodreads list.   Click here to learn about Goodreads.

On Monday I’ll be back with an uplifting and emotional video for a great song by one of my favorite singer/songwriters.   Until then, broadcast some happiness.  The world needs it!

Thanks for visiting.  Please subscribe on the bottom of the page if you’d like an email when I post. Comments are like gold to a blogger and shares are like diamonds.   A growing blog makes a blogger happy.    New here?  Check out my About page to see what this blog is all about and to learn more about me. Click to follow me on FACEBOOK.  Click to follow me on TWITTER.

All the best,

Marcie

Question of the day.  Do you watch/read the news on a regular basis?  If so, how do you cope with it all?

6 thoughts on “#32 of All the Things- Broadcasting Happiness

  1. I’m a positive person by nature, but have come to realize that positivity, without acknowledging negativity, is an empty construct. Broadcasting Happiness sounds like it’s a book with a balanced perspective. Thanks for the suggestion. I’m always in the market for a different/better way to approach life and share stories.

    Like

  2. I used to watch the news every night but I can’t anymore — it makes me feel hopeless and angry so many times. I subscribe to Time and The Week and read rather than watch. It seems that an article gives more perspective than a 2 minute report that often is more sensationalism than news. I do watch CBS Sunday Morning — it has “good” news stories about people and places and I feel inspired — it is my Sunday church I guess.

    Like

    1. This book has a whole journalism manifesto in it and it’s a plea and argument for journalists​ to report in a new way. That people actually want to feel hopeful when terrible things are happening. Ariana Huffington is on board which seems like a good sign.

      Like

  3. You make a very important point. I often find myself reminding people that the world is far safer than our usual descriptions of it would imply. Sure, it’s still “dangerous”, but we never were guaranteed safety and sometimes risk is what keeps us awake and grateful.

    Like

    1. It’s true. I need to remind myself of that sometimes because my anxiety tries to take me down. Then, my kids suffer because the thing I’m most fearful of is bad things happening to them. I’m working on a post about TED Talk that talks about this, too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

