#35 of All the Things-10% Happier w/Dr. Judson Brewer

 

Do you have a problem with addiction?  Do you smoke?  Are you addicted to drugs, alcohol or gambling?  Do you have a hard time controlling yourself with food or putting down your smart phone? I found a great podcast that may just help.

It’s #61 of the 10% Happier Podcast with Dan Harris. In this episode, Dan talks to Dr. Judson Brewer, a neuroscientist and psychiatrist who specializes in addiction.  It is very interesting and includes some great tools.  You can listen to this podcast on iTunes or see below for info on getting it in Google Play.

I learned about:

  • The addictive loops around food, technology, and even romantic love.
  • The four noble truths that center around craving.
  • Numerous studies about meditation and mindfulness with people addicted to cocaine, alcohol, and cigarettes.
  • One study that to be proved twice as effective as the gold standard of smoking cessation.  After four months it was 5 times better!
  • How to use mindfulness to deal with cravings.
  • Dr. Brewer’s two great apps Craving to Quit and Eat Right Now (both are available on iTunes and Google Play)
  • How the mind mistakes excitement for happiness.
  • How to cultivate curiosity in meditation and the importance of it in your practice.
  • My new favorite focus/mantra in meditation “Let your senses rip.”

 

Dr. Judson Brewer is the author of The Craving Mind and he is the speaker of two TED Talks.  One of which I will be sharing on next month’s blog. You can follow Dr. Brewer on Twitter or his website.

32714199

 

The 10% Happier Podcast is based off of Dan Harris’ book 10% Happier; How I Tamed the Voice In My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, And Found Self-Help That Actually Works -A True Story

18505796

I listened to the book on audible and I really enjoyed it.  Click on the books on this blog to add them to your Goodreads list.  For more information see the What is Goodreads? page. If you are curious about meditation and/or enjoy a good memoir, then it’s a good pick.

Dan Harris, the host of the show, is also a correspondent for ABC News. He’s an anchor on both Nightline and the weekend edition of Good Morning America.  He’s a great interviewer with a wonderful sense of humor and is passionate about the subject of meditation, but I  love how he lets his skepticisms shine through.

To learn how to download this podcast on Google Play read my Podcasts on Google Play page. For a closer look at another great episode on this podcast, check out #10 of All the Things.

On Monday, I’ll be back with a great feel good song to brighten your spirits.  Until then, let your senses rip!

Thanks for visiting.  Please subscribe on the bottom of the page if you’d like an email when I post. Comments are like gold to a blogger and shares are like diamonds.   A growing blog makes a blogger happy.    New here?  Check out my About page to see what this blog is all about and to learn more about me. Click to follow me on FACEBOOK.  Click to follow me on TWITTER.

All the best,

Marcie

Question of the day:  Do you meditate?  Why or why not?

 

2 thoughts on “#35 of All the Things-10% Happier w/Dr. Judson Brewer

  1. As a recovering addict, I’m a firm believer in 12 step programs. However, I’m also a firm believer that Bill and Bob (the founders of a.a.) were on to something when they talked about how they knew that new developments would come along and that emotional sobriety would require alcoholics to evolve beyond the 12 steps. (I’m paraphrasing badly here, so any mistakes is vocabulary/syntax are mine and not theirs). My dear husband Sunshine has started reading up on things like the neurophysiology of addiction, I’ll have to ask him if he’s read this book.

    Like

  2. I agree, 12 steps is a great program but sometimes it’s not enough. It’s a complicated subject. I’m working on a post about a Ted talk that looks at addiction in a new way. I’d be really interested to hear your thoughts. I have never used any drugs, and I didn’t even drink until I was about 35 years old because I was terrified of addiction. I saw it all around me. So though I’ve never had to deal with it in myself I’ve been very up close and personal with it and have to suffer many of the consequences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

